Fraternal Awards of Excellence

Instructions for the 2020 Fraternal Awards of Excellence

Fraternal Awards of Excellence Application Packet 2020

The FAE Awards have been restructured this year for chapters to best display a holistic view of their operations. You will find the questions and evaluations to be broad and open for interpretation. Please complete the application to the best of your ability and reach out if you have questions ( or

Step 1: By October 15, 2020, the master question list will be sent out. This will be a list of questions you may respond to on your application. You may use this list to prepare your answers, evaluate your current chapter doings or just as a guideline moving forward. You are not limited to only these questions, as your chapter may be living the value by other examples. These questions are designed as a guide for you. Your role is to demonstrate to our review panel that your chapter truly lives the value of our community.

Step 2: By November 15, 2020 the official application will be released on canvas. You will have until January 25, 2021 to answer all of the questions.

Step 3:  Once the submission deadline has passed. Our volunteer review panel will read all of your responses and select  finalists (top performing chapters) in each value area AND overall finalists (top performing chapters in all areas) *please note that chapters that are selected as top finalists are not eligible to be selected as a value area finalists. All chapters selected as overall finalists will receive the President’s Circle Award for Fraternal Excellence. Category finalists will be recognized as Gold Circle Award for Fraternal Excellence. The review panel can award other meritorious chapters with the Cardinal Circle Award for Fraternal Excellence.

Step 4: All finalists will then be given a single question from our review board to answer via a video submission. The question will remain unknown until finalists are selected and the due date will be given as the time gets closer.

Step 5: Our review board will watch submitted question videos and select a single winner in each value area as well as an overall winner which will be awarded the President’s Cup and announced at the FAE awards.


  • Be creative and include anything you feel is relevant. Some things may not seem special or interesting because you have been doing them for so long, but we promise they are!
  • If you don’t feel confident in every category that is okay! Use your time to make the categories you do feel confident in the very best they can be, you may end up being a category finalist.
  • Documentation such as meeting minutes, photos, advertisements, or copies of presentations strengthens your chapter’s application.
  • Use the master question list to evaluate your chapter. The provided questions range in difficulty but if you can provide an answer to most/all of them, then that is a great sign your organization is completing important things.
  • Simply answering the questions will not achieve a high evaluation from the review panel. This is not a checklist submission.
  • The values are listed in alphabetical order, not in rank order.


Individual Awards:

To download the information packet please click Here

Student Leader Awards (Nominations due Sunday February 21st 11:59pm):

Sorority and Fraternity Community Member of the Year (candidate must have 2.5 GPA and 60 or more Iowa State credits. Students with a 3.0 or higher GPA are also eligible for a scholarship): 

Freshman of the Year (1st year student): 

Sophomore of the Year (2nd year student): 

Junior of the Year (3rd year student): 

Senior of the Year (4+ year student): 

Unsung Hero Award *no applications accepted, only nominations, due January 20, 2020* (Students with a 3.0 or higher GPA are also eligible for a scholarship) : 

Chapter President of the Year (candidate must a 2.5 GPA. Students with a 3.0 or higher GPA are also eligible for a scholarship): 



Special Awards 2020:

Partnership Award: Brian Vanderheyden and Student Wellness Department

Community Impact Award: Delta Phi Lambda Sorority, Inc.

Campus Impact Award: Phi Kappa Psi

Educational Program of the Year: ISU 4U, Alpha Gamma Rho

Greek Alumni Alliance Alumni Involvement Grant: Closed

2020 Fraternal Awards of Excellence Winners:

President's Cup for Highest Score on Fraternal Awards for Excellence:

Beta Theta Pi

President's Award for Fraternal Excellence:

Alpha Gamma Rho, Alpha Phi, Beta Theta Pi, Chi Omega, Delta Phi Lambda Sorority, Inc. 

Gold Circle Award for Fraternal Excellence:

Alpha Delta Pi, Delta Upsilon, Kappa Alpha Theta, Kappa Delta, Kappa Kappa Gamma, FarmHouse, Sigma Phi Epsilon

Cardinal Circle Award for Fraternal Excellence:

ACACIA, Adelante, Alpha Sigma Kappa, Beta Sigma Psi, Delta Delta Delta, Delta Tau Delta, Delta Zeta, Gamma Phi Beta, Phi Delta Theta, Triangle

Certificate of Merit for Fraternal Excellence:

Alpha Gamma Delta, Chi Phi, Delta Gamma, Phi Kappa Psi, Pi Kappa Phi, Theta Delta Chi

Chapter President of the Year:

  • CPC: Kay McClelland, Alpha Phi
  • IFC: Ben Zellmer, Phi Delta Theta
  • MGC:  Lauren Davis, Delta Phi Lambda Sorority, Inc. 
  • NPHC: Brianna Harden, Zeta Phi Beta Sorority, Inc.

Director's Award:

  • Nina Gregory, Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc. 
  • Jonathan Hall, Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity, Inc. 
  • Carer Mills, Sigma Pi
  • Lauryn Perk, Alpha Phi
  • Anna Weih, Delta Zeta

House Director of the Year: 

Dianne Pinneke, Alpha Gamma Rho 

Freshmen of the Year:

Paola Rodriquez Valiente, Alpha Gamma Delta 

Sophomore of the Year: 

Avery Staker, Alpha Gamma Delta

Junior of the Year: 

Madi Forseth, Delta Zeta 

Senior of the Year: 

Cassie Bond, Gamma Phi Beta

Sorority and Fraternity Member of the Year:

  • Lauren Davis, Delta Phi Lambda Sorority, Inc. 
  • Rachel Junck, Alpha Gamma Delta 
  • Graham Owen, Delta Upsilon 

Carolyn Ullestad Unsung Hero Award: 

Kalista Velman, Pi Beta Phi

Hall of Fame Inductees:

Judson Horras, Beta Theta Pi

Chapter Adviser of the Year

  • CPC: Kallen Anderson, Alpha Gamma Delta 
  • IFC: Justin Chesnut, Alpha Gamma Rho
  • MGC: Laura Bestler, Sigma Lambda Gamma National Sorority, Inc. 
  • NPHC: Michelle Talbott, Zeta Phi Beta Sorority, Inc. 

These awards provide recognition for chapters that excel in the strategic areas of the Sorority and Fraternity Community. These areas include  Academics, Civic Engagement, Friendship, Leadership, and Social Justice.

  • Chapters receiving the President's Award for Fraternal Excellence meet or exceeded 90% of the criteria during the area period.

  • Chapters receiving the Gold Circle Award meet or exceeded 80% of the criteria during the award period.

  • Chapters receiving the Cardinal Circle Award meet or exceeded 70% of the criteria during the award period.

  • Chapters receiving the Certificate of Merit Award meet or exceeded 50% of the criteria during the award period.